Nesting: Work Edition

photo (26)

With only about 11 weeks left of work, I am starting to feel like I need to get things in order and ready for maternity leave. I have been in work over-drive for the past couple weeks already, even working on the weekends (and during 3hr glucose screenings {see pic above}), to get charts in order and start thinking about who will see my clients while I am gone. I often think of my clients as my own children, so of course I want to make sure that careful consideration goes into who will take over their care while I am at home being a new mommy. While in work-nesting mode, I have been thinking a lot about what to do when the maternity leave is over. Even before we started trying to grow our family, Clint and I had talked about me going back to work 3 days a week after having a baby. 3 days sounds great in my mind!  A good balance between staying with my career and also being able to be there with my baby as she has so many “firsts.” Lately, I have been throwing a kink in that original way of thinking and considering about going back 4 days a week.  So many factors weigh on this decision, with one of them being what day care we want to send Brooklyn to (a whole other post). This decision will be formed by A LOT of thought and prayer about what is right for our family. Going to work 4 days a week would allow me to continue to excel in my career, but will Brooklyn’s well being be jeopardized in result? I don’t know. Honestly, I don’t know how I will ever know what is best, but I am relying on God to show me, in the way that He only can. Prayers (always) welcomed 🙂

Leave a Reply

