Sweet Baby Baptism

My first Mother’s Day was absolutely perfect. Clint brought me home flowers on Saturday and I woke up to a sweet card and “love” necklace from Brooklyn that I have been wearing proudly ever since.  If those gifts weren’t special enough, the best gift of the day came during church when our precious little girl was baptized. Our pastor, Bruce Clark, did an amazing job talking about the significance of Brooklyn’s middle name, Love. Hearing my papa’s name spoken loud and clear gave me the feeling that he was sitting right there with us. Brooklyn did great during the whole baptism, smiling from ear to ear at all of our family who came to share this special day with us. Our sweet girl had her parents,  grandparents, 2 great-grandmothers, 4 aunts, 3 uncles, 3 cousins, and countless friends there to witness the special occasion. My heart was so full  knowing how much Brooklyn is loved. After the service, we hosted our family for lunch–partially prepared by me (read: easy crockpot mac and cheese, fruit, and cupcakes) and partially catered by Maggiano’s, Q-Shack, and Jersey Mike’s. Through all of the joy, I still couldn’t help but think about how much I wished Papa could be there. I thought about it most as I looked into the congregation at all of our family and when we were all sitting around at our house that afternoon. I thought about how he sat on our couch at Christmas and held her and looked into her eyes. And then I thought about how he was there with us. He was there through every second and is so very proud.

baptism

Fingers crossed that someone else got a better pic

 baptism cake baptism cupcakes

Baptism cake and cupcakes…because every special occasion needs sweets 🙂

“How great is the love that the Heavenly Father has lavished on {Brooklyn Love Winslow} that she should be called a child of God! And that is what she is!” -1 John 3:1

Leave a Reply

